We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • A softcover-bound, premium-grade book, printed in Latvia with environmentally sustainable paper and inks, documenting the Glacier Music project in words and illustrations. The book features conversations with all the artists, ephemera from the trip, artistic impressions of the scenery by Robert Lippok and Lillevan, and full texts and translations of sung texts.

    Includes digital download of music. 70 pp.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Glacier Music II via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    edition of 50 

      €20 EUR or more 

    You own this  


  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €12 EUR  or more

    You own this


m3 /s 02:31
Microseismic 01:27
Juta 09:47
Numbers drop 09:23


A project of Goethe-Institut Georgien
Music and book (digital/physical) by Establishment

Glacier Music II grew out of a journey – a shared trip into the icy Greater Caucasus mountains of Georgia, as artists from Armenia, Georgia, and Germany collected visceral sensations of nature to channel into potent musical collaborations. Those mountains form a thread across neighboring but diverse musical traditions, and so from this fragile environment, an international collaboration between multi-talented producers and performers sound a poignant, personal note of urgency.

Berlin’s established talents Robert Lippok (in sound - the Raster-media artist) and Lillevan (in visuals) join rising stars of the Caucasus - Anushka Chkheidze lends her harmonic imagination and detailed, intimate piano work; her prepared piano gestures (on ‘Microseismic’) match the sculptural explorations of Robert’s experimental electronics. Eto Gelashvili’s voice carries through like a brisk mountain air; Hayk Karoyi combines a deep knowledge of traditional Armenian folk instruments with innovative compositional efforts. The group’s affection for one another glows out of the music across the release, as evidenced in the easily-flowing live inclusion.

But that mission to speak of an immediate climate crisis is embedded deeply in the work – from the soft deep bass of Matthias Meyer and team’s geophone recordings of shifting ice in ‘Microseismic’, to the imperative sound of time and tragedy pressing forward in the closing Numbers Drop.

Ancient Caucasian tradition meets contemporary sound geographies, where electronics meld with more organic sound influences. The resulting music is at once arresting and intimate, bringing the listener closer to the nature that surrounds us.


released August 20, 2021

Track four includes sound material from Sounds of Matterhorn (CC-BY) by Matthias Meyer, Samuel Weber, Jan Beutel

All songs mixed by Robert Lippok, with the exception of “Sleeping glacier” (mix: Peter Kirn)

Mastered by: Cem Oral


all rights reserved



Establishment Records Berlin, Germany

Establishment is a platform from CDM (cdm.link) supporting cross-genre and trans-media releases.

contact / help

Contact Establishment Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account